Global University Venturing will reveal the winners of this year's awards at the gala dinner as part of GUV: Fusion on May 22.

Global University Venturing is excited to present the shortlist for this year’s GUV Awards, listed here in alphabetical order.
The winners will be revealed at the gala dinner on May 22 as part of our GUV: Fusion conference, run jointly with the GCV Symposium, in London. We will feature in-depth articles about each winner in next month’s magazine.
Tickets to both the conference and the gala dinner are available at a 15% promotional rate until May 8, with university staff receiving an additional discount on conference entry – click here to book.
Tech Transfer Unit of the Year
Office of Licensing and Ventures (Duke University)
ETH transfer (ETH Zurich)
Technology Licensing Office (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Office of Technology Commercialization (Purdue University)
Oxford University Innovation (University of Oxford)
Fundraising of the Year
Cambridge Innovation Capital, $196m (University of Cambridge)
Imec.xpand, $135m (Imec)
Lab1636, $100m (Harvard University, Deerfield Management)
Osage University Partners III, $273m (Osage University Partners)
Poli360, $70m (Politecnico di Milano)
Investment Unit of the Year
Cambridge Enterprise Seed Funds
IP Group
Karolinska Development
Mars Innovation
UCL Technology Fund
Deal of the Year
Aprea Therapeutics, $62.8m series C (Karolinska Institute)
Beam Therapeutics, $135m series B (Harvard University)
Galecto Biotech, $90m series C (University of Edinburgh and Lund University)
Passage Bio, $115.5m series A (University of Pennsylvania)
Ultrahaptics, $44.8m series C (University of Bristol)
CVC Investment in a Spinout of the Year
Amal Therapeutics (Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund and Helsinn Investment Fund)
Fusion Pharmaceuticals (Varian Medical Systems and Johnson & Johnson Innovation–JJDC)
OmniSci (Nvidia and Verizon Ventures)
Oxford Nanopore (Amgen)
Ribon Therapeutics (Novartis Venture Fund, Johnson & Johnson Innovation–JJDC, Takeda Ventures, Celgene)
Technology of the Year
AlphaNavi Pharma (Kyoto University)
Apeel Sciences (UC Santa Barbara)
Innoging Medical (Ariel University)
Liopa (Queen’s University Belfast)
Wildlife Drones (Australian National University, University of Sydney)
Exit of the Year
Allakos, $128m IPO (Johns Hopkins University)
Moderna, $604m IPO (Harvard University)
Orchard Therapeutics, $200m IPO (University College London)
SecurityMatters, acquired by Forescout Technologies for $113m (University of Twente)
Ziylo, acquired by Novo Nordisk for up to $800m (University of Bristol)
Personality of the Year
Christel Piron, PreSeed Ventures
Lesley Millar-Nicholson, MIT Technology Licensing Office
Mark Mann, SE2020 Fund at Oxford University Innovation
Mark Payton, Mercia Technologies
Neil Crabb, Frontier IP
Lifetime Achievement Award 
This award is in recognition of a person whose career and dedication to technology transfer have had a profound impact on the sector. The recipient will be disclosed on the night.

Thierry Heles

Thierry Heles is the editor of Global University Venturing, host of the Beyond the Breakthrough interview podcast and responsible for the monthly GUV Gazette (sign up here for free).